Hocking College Graduates Class of 2014

Sat, May 10th, 2014

Hocking College welcomed approximately 1,000 graduates to the ranks of alumni at three ceremonies on Friday, May 9, 2014 at 7 p.m. and Saturday May 10, 2014 at 10:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. at the Hocking College Student Center Multiplex in Nelsonville, Ohio.

Three students served as the honorable commencement speakers, beginning with Tabitha Cox at Friday evening’s ceremony.

“I’m here to tell you today that absolutely nothing is impossible,” Cox encouraged fellow graduates.

She overcame medical illnesses, abuse and bankruptcy to graduate top of her class and continue into the world as a nurse and a helping hand in the medical field. She inspired the audience to become motivated, caring and hardworking individuals in the world.

In her address to the Hocking College Class of 2014 at the Saturday morning ceremony, Emily Main, Landscape Management graduate, reminded graduates that taking the hard road will lead you through the best experiences. Main took time pursing her many passions and facing difficult decisions that led her to her destined path as a leader for Campus Crusade for Christ.

“Everyone’s roads are different, but I guarantee we all have a choice between a hard one and an easy one. My hope is that you choose the hard one.. it will always be worth it in the end,” Main commented.

Closing the commencement ceremonies on Saturday afternoon, Denise Frasure shared her personal struggle with drug addiction and the impact it had on her life. She left the audience with inspirational words expressing her great optimism as she enters the community to help and encourage individuals facing the struggles she once understood.

Student award recipients included Julia Decker, Michelle Herris, Kaitlyn Mohler and Shelbi Wilson for Excellence in Student Employment; Jeffrey Adams, Andrew Blosser, Tonya DeGraw and Emily Main for the Richard Elston Award; Tabitha Cox, Katelynn Dearth, Mary Sanders and Rachel Shurgin for the Student Life Award; and Jamie Ellen Frolicher, Kiara Ivory, Rachel Kiger, Angela Perrigo and Marie Silva for the “We are One Hocking” Award.

Graduates of the School of Allied Health and School of Nursing received diplomas at the 7 p.m. ceremony. Graduates of the School of Natural Resources and School of Public Safety Services graduated at the 10:30 a.m. ceremony.  The 2:30 p.m. ceremony graduated students from the McClenaghan Center for Hospitality Training; School of Arts, Business and Information Technology; and the School of Engineering Technologies. 

Power THE Passion

We are committed to providing our students with scholarships and other financial assistance, to maintaining a modern learning environment with up-to-date technology and to investing in the future of Hocking College. Your contribution today will Power THE Passion.